Masorti/Conservative Judaism Around the World to Unite For Virtual “Global Gathering For Healing”

Masorti/Conservative Judaism Around the World to Unite For Virtual  “Global Gathering For Healing”

Posted on March 31, 2020

Masorti/Conservative Judaism Around the World to Unite For Virtual

“Global Gathering For Healing”

Live Event to Feature Global Presenters Including Award-Winning Musicians David Broza, Joey Weisenberg, and Rabbi Naomi Levy

Sunday, April 5th, 7:00pm Jerusalem/12noon New York and other cities***

March 31st, 2020 (NEW YORK CITY and JERUSALEM) – In advance of the Passover holiday, the Masorti/Conservative Jewish movement will convene communities and individuals from around the world for a global event, a “Global Gathering For Healing.” The spiritually-focused virtual event will take place on Sunday, April 5th at 7:00pm Jerusalem time/12noon EDT. Hosted by the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism (USCJ), Masorti Olami and Masorti Israel, the first-time initiative is co-hosted by organizations from across Masorti/Conservative Judaism. The 30-minute program, broadcast on Facebook Live and YouTubeLive, will feature musicians and clergy known around the world, leading the community in song and prayers of hope and healing.

“Being part of a community is essential to how we practice our Judaism. We are hosting this Global Gathering for Healing with our partner organizations around the world to convene our broader Jewish community to express our connections and share wishes of hope as we prepare for a Passover different from any we’ve experienced before,“ explains Leslie Lichter, Interim CEO, United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism.

“This is a milestone moment, as Jewish communities from across six continents gather together and demonstrate that a spiritual connectedness is possible even when we are miles apart,” says Rabbi Mauricio Balter, Executive Director, Masorti Olami, the international organization based in Israel, representing the global Masorti Conservative movement.

“During a challenging time, we look forward to “The Global Gathering For Healing” with great optimism,” stated Dr. Yizhar Hess, Executive Director and CEO of The Masorti Movement in Israel. “We are especially proud that two of our clergy members, Rabbi Chaya Rowen Baker and Cantor Yahala Lachmish will be participating.”

Inspirational Lineup of Clergy and Performers

Leading clergy members and performers (as of press time) will include:

  • David Broza, Israeli multi-platinum recording artist (Tel Aviv)
  • Rabbi Naomi Levy (Los Angeles)
  • Joey Weisenberg, award-winning musician and founder of Hadar’s Rising Song Institute (Philadelphia)
  • Cantor Azi Schwartz (New York City)
  • Rabbi Adrian Gottfried (São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Rabbi Chaya Rowen Baker (Jerusalem)
  • Cantor Yahala Lachmish (Jerusalem)
  • Rabbi Jonathan Wittenberg (London)
  • Noa Kligfeld Immediate past international president of USY (Los Angeles)

Sample Times By Time Zone

9 AM Los Angeles

10 AM Denver

11AM Chicago

12 PM New York

1 PM Buenos Aires/ São Paulo

5 PM London

6 PM Paris

7 PM Jerusalem/ Kampala/ Kiev

1 AM Tokyo (April 6)

2 AM Sydney/ Melbourne (April 6)

Full List of Hosts and Co-Hosts

HOSTS

  • Masorti Olami
  • Masorti Israel
  • United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism (USCJ)

CO-HOSTS

  • Cantors Assembly
  • Canadian Foundation for Masorti Judaism
  • Federation of Jewish Men's Clubs
  • Fuchsberg Jerusalem Center/Conservative Yeshiva
  • Hadar’s Rising Song Institute
  • Jewish Educators Assembly
  • Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism
  • Jewish Theological Seminary
  • Jewish Youth Directors Association (JYDA)
  • Masorti Foundation
  • Masorti Olami
  • Masorty-Mercaz Canada
  • Mercaz Canada
  • Mercaz USA
  • North American Association of Synagogue Executives
  • National Ramah Commission
  • Noam Olami
  • The Rabbinical Assembly
  • Schechter Institute of Jewish Studies
  • Seminario Rabinico Latinamericano
  • United Synagogue Youth (USY)
  • Women's League of Conservative Judaism
  • Ziegler School of Rabbinic Studies/American Jewish University

The Global Gathering For Healing is free and open to the public. Registration is not required.

Click on the following link to join the event on Facebook Live. More information is available on www.jewishglobalhealing.com.

About USCJ

Founded in 1913, USCJ is the network of nearly 600 Conservative Jewish communities across North America. “Seek Meaning Together” is our underlying philosophy as we represent the values and beliefs of an authentic and dynamic Judaism in North America (US, Canada, Caribbean, Cuba and Mexico), Latin America and Israel. Our work strengthens kehillot (Jewish communities inside and outside the walls of a synagogue) by providing visionary leadership training, creating opportunities for Jews of all ages to learn and grow, sharing essential resources, and seeding innovative ideas. More information at www.uscj.org.

About Masorti Olami

The World Council of Conservative/Masorti Synagogues (Masorti Olami), founded in 1972, builds, renews and strengthens Jewish life throughout the world, with efforts that focus on existing and developing communities in Europe, Latin America, the Former Soviet Union, Africa, Asia and Australia. We conduct our activities within the context of the overall Conservative/Masorti movement, in close cooperation with our partner and affiliated organizations in North America and Israel. More information at http://masortiolami.org/.

About Masorti Israel

The Masorti Movement is committed to a pluralistic, egalitarian, and democratic vision of Zionism. Masorti represents a “third” way. Not secular Judaism. Not ultra-Orthodoxy. But a Jewish life that integrates secular beliefs. Halakhah with inclusion and egalitarianism. Tradition that recognizes the realities of today’s world. Masorti engages tens of thousands of Israelis each year, young and old, native born as well as olim from around the globe. More information at https://masorti.org/

###

Media Contacts:

Julie Livingston, USCJ

[email protected]

(646) 519-9222 (direct)

Steve Rabinowitz

Bluelight Strategies

[email protected]

(202) 494-7655